There is no “Happy” in Memorial Day – Honoring the Dead

I never understood it when someone wishes me a Happy Memorial day. Of course they’re not trying to be unkind or insensitive, I get that, but it’s kind of akin to wishing someone A Happy September 11th.

Memorial Day, which falls on the last Monday of May, commemorates the men and women who died while serving in the American military. Originally known as Decoration Day, it originated in the years following the Civil War and became an official federal holiday in 1971.
It’s a time for reflection.. a time to remember. I hate the fact that it’s turned into a day for parties, cookouts and 50% off white sales.  The day to honor our fallen warriors eventually turned into the unofficial beginning of summer. How sad.

Ronald Reagan remarks at Memorial Day Ceremonies Honoring A Serviceman of the Vietnam Conflict

— May 28th, 1984

May God Bless those that gave all.

3 Comments

Filed under Military, Military and Police

3 responses to “There is no “Happy” in Memorial Day – Honoring the Dead

  1. Tricia Sheeran

    I’ve been saying the same thing for years. What’s “happy” about it? I wish people a SAFE Memorial Day and remind them why they get a long weekend.

  2. Tricia Sheeran

    I don’t know if you’ll be able to see this, but this is my Annual Memorial Day note that I post on Facebook. Please tell me what you think: https://www.facebook.com/notes/tricia-sheeran/annual-memorial-day-note/10150903697818724

Thoughts? Opinions? Leave a reply -

